Academic Master


Maslow Hierarchy of Needs

Abraham Maslow presented Maslow’s Hierarchy of needs, also known as motivation theory. It suggests that there are certain levels that the individual needs to pass, and upgrading each level increases a person’s motivation. Motivation is the most important element for the success and accomplishment of the project as it is the one factor that keeps pushing the employees to complete the task on time and work efficiently to reach the outcome ultimately.

Maslow’s hierarchy of needs theory suggests that the individual passes through some phases when motivated. He would initially be in the physiological phase, where a person’s motivation is very low. But with some traces of it, he would get to the safety level, then to the love/belonging, after which the individual would be at the self-esteem level. Motivation acts as a trigger for the employees to work and, when they perform all their tasks, then their self-esteem also increases. The final phase is self-actualization when the employees have a clear and peculiar image of themselves and their abilities. However, these phases can only be achieved with the motivation and encouragement of a good and sincere leader who will give proper instructions to the employees or subordinates.

As a humanist psychologist, Maslow suggested that people have a natural aspiration toward the self-actualization process. With these self-actualization emotions, they can achieve their ultimate goals and dreams. The basic needs in Maslow’s hierarchy are crucial and important, including food, air, clean drinking water, and safety. Maslow’s theory is created as a pyramid. The highest level is the complex one where the most complex needs are placed. Basic and most important needs are placed on the lowest level of the pyramid. If the basic needs are satisfied then the motivation process approaches the next level otherwise it sticks with the stage of basic needs. If people do not have trouble satisfying their basic needs, they move forward to the next level, which includes security, health, and well-being. The more stages are satisfied, the more an individual moves to the next level in Maslow’s hierarchy of needs.

The most important factor in the hierarchy is the stage of self-actualization, in which humans can discover their potential and move forward to achieve their life goals. Self-actualization grants an individual several emotions, such as personal potential, self-fulfillment, personal growth, and inner abilities.

Man’s Search for Meaning

Man’s Search for Meaning is a book by Viktor E. Franklin in 1946. The book was written after World War II ended and it is mostly based on the facts related to the war. In this book, the writer described his psychotherapeutic methods, and most importantly he identified that positive nature and emotions are the most crucial assets of one’s life. He was the one who remained the victim of World War II, and he shared his bitter experiences with the audience. He shared his experience related to the Nazi concentration camps, along with his Psychological approaches and logotherapy. He explained that a person could survive even in the worst situations like war and explained how a person can explore the true meaning of life. The author had faced several unexpected and severe conditions inside Nazi concentration camps, but he consistently fought for his survival. He was the one who survived after bearing severe punishments, unlike many other people who died during the severe circumstances of war. His book became famous due to his psychological perspectives and real-life experiences. The book’s main essential points include finding out about the true and real meaning of life. It also includes that one must learn to fight the fears so that he could be able to deal with the severe and challenging circumstances of life. The meaning of life leads to the importance of life. A person who cares about his life and knows about the true meaning of his life will be the one who gives importance and value to his life. The author tried to motivate people so that they could find meaning in life.

Both authors are targeting the process of self-actualization. According to Maslow, there are certain stages of an individual’s life, but he did not focus on the fact that every individual in this world has different scenarios and circumstances. Moreover, no scientific evidence is present to prove the validity of Maslow’s theory. Additionally, Maslow did not add to or focus on the fact that there is a considerable difference between collectivist and individualistic societies, so the scenarios of both communities and their members are changed completely. Once the needs are satisfied, these are not the ones that disappear, but the ones that remain present consistently, such as the basic needs of humans. In the book, Man’s Search for Meaning the author explores his opinions, perspective, and life experiences. The book reveals the real experiences and life situations of a person who explored the meaning of life and wanted other people to also gain some lessons from his life, so he wrote an amazing book.

Works Cited

“Criticisms Of Hierarchy Of Needs Theory.” N.p., 2013. Web. 7 Feb. 2018.

Frankl, Viktor E. Man’s Search For Ultimate Meaning. London: Rider, 2011. Print.

McLeod, Saul. “Maslow’s Hierarchy Of Needs.” Simply Psychology. N.p., 2017. Web. 7 Feb. 2018.

W, Huitt. “Educational Psychology Interactive: Maslow’s Hierarchy Of Needs.” N.p., 2007. Web. 7 Feb. 2018.



Calculate Your Order

Standard price





Pop-up Message